close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
The Court of Final Appeal Building photo
The Court of Final Appeal Building photo1
The Court of Final Appeal Building photo2

The Court of Final Appeal Building on Jackson Road (also called “the Old Supreme Court Building”) was opened in 1912 and housed the Supreme Court at that time. The Building was used as the Supreme Court and other courts and government offices except during the Japanese occupation and the period between 1978 and 1981 when the Supreme Court was temporarily moved to the former French Mission Building. In 1984, the Supreme Court moved to the current High Court Building (formerly called “the Supreme Court Building”) in Queensway. The Building was used as the Legislative Council Chamber and associated facilities from 1985 until 2011 when the Legislative Council moved to its current premises in Tamar. The Building has been home of the Court of Final Appeal since 2015.

Chater Garden and Statue Square are on the east and west sides of the Court of Final Appeal Building respectively. Supported by tall Ionic columns, the 3-storey granite building is Neo-classical in style, surmounted by a blindfolded statue of Justice personified in the form of the Greek goddess Themis holding a sword and a pair of scales in her left and right hands respectively. The exterior of the Old Supreme Court Building was declared a monument in 1984.

Transport

To plan your journey to The Court of Final Appeal Building, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, and insert your starting point to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the “Journey” button in the Google Map below.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.



More Spots

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
終審法院大樓圖片
終審法院大樓圖片1
終審法院大樓圖片2

位於中環昃臣道的終審法院大樓(又稱「舊最高法院大樓」)於1912年啟用,作為當時的最高法院之用。除了日佔時期及1978至1981年間最高法院短暫遷至前法國外方傳道會大樓外,建築物一直用作最高法院及其他法院和政府辦公室。及至1984年,最高法院遷往現時金鐘道高等法院大樓(前稱「最高法院大樓」),建築物於1985年至2011年期間用作立法會(1997年7月前稱為「立法局」)會議廳及相關設施。隨著立法會遷往添馬現址,建築物於2015年起用作終審法院。

終審法院大樓東西兩側分別是遮打花園及皇后像廣場。3層高花崗石大樓外形雄偉,採新古典主義建築風格,地面以愛奧尼亞式石柱環抱。大樓頂端矗立著左手持劍、右手持天秤,及蒙著眼的希臘女神泰米斯,用以代表公義。舊最高法院大樓外部於1984年列為古蹟。

交通

如規劃前往終審法院大樓的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點以搜尋不同交通路線,或點擊下方Google地圖的「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點