close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island

Detailed Information

Aberdeen Reservoir/Aberdeen Country Park

Aberdeen Reservoir/Aberdeen Country Park

Located in the southern part of Hong Kong Island bordering the Pacific Ocean, the Southern District spans from Big Wave Bay in the east to Pok Fu Lam in the west. With an area of 39.40 sq km, nearly half the size of the Island, it has a population of about 263 300.

Some of the places in the Southern District were recorded in ancient Chinese books. For instance, Yue Da Ji, written and complied by Kwok Fei, a Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644) scholar, has recorded Tai Tam, Stanley and Chung Hoi (currently known as Chung Hom Kok), on the Guangdong yanhai tu (literally translated as “Nautical Chart of the Guangdong Province”). Evidently, there was a considerable number of inhabitants in the Southern District in those early days.

Back then, owing to the lack of flat land, most residents in the Southern District made a living as fishermen and inhabited around coastal areas such as Stanley, Aberdeen and Ap Lei Chau. As Hong Kong moved towards an industrialised and commercialised economy, the traditional fishing industry declined. Between the 1970s and 1990s, Wong Chuk Hang was one of the major light industrial areas in Hong Kong.

Nowadays, the Southern District emerges as a hub for industrial, commercial and technological development as well as leisure activities. Local attractions include the Cyberport, Stanley Plaza and Murray House, Stanley and its market, the Ocean Park, and so on. Yet, the large number of fishing vessels mooring in the Aberdeen Typhoon Shelter and the Aberdeen Harbour amidst the hustle and bustle of the nearby wholesale fish market still preserve the ambience of a fishing harbour.

The Béthanie

The Béthanie

Southern District Literary Trail

Southern District Literary Trail

Endowed with natural beauty, the Southern District is home to some popular beaches, including Deep Water Bay Beach, Repulse Bay and Shek O Beach. The seasonal changes in the landscapes of Tai Tam Country Park, Pok Fu Lam Country Park and Pok Fu Lam Reservoir also attract many visitors. Besides, there are quite a number of iconic landmarks signifying early development of the district, e.g. The Béthanie, Old Stanley Police Station and University Hall (formerly known as “Douglas Castle”). What’s more, there is the Southern District Literary Trail, which traces the footprints of 5 Chinese cultural luminaries in the contemporary era.

 Stanley Main Street (Bar Street)

Stanley Main Street (Bar Street)

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島

詳細資料

香港仔水塘/香港仔郊野公園

香港仔水塘/香港仔郊野公園

南區位於香港島南部,面向太平洋,東起大浪灣,西迄薄扶林,面積達39.40平方公里,幾占港島之半,人口約263 300

中國古籍早有記載南區部分地方,如明朝(1368年 — 1644年)郭棐編撰的《粵大記》中的廣東沿海圖便載有大潭、赤柱、舂磑(即舂坎角)等地名,可見當時已有相當人口於南區聚居。

由於南區平地少,從前居民多以捕魚為業,並於赤柱、香港仔、鴨脷洲等沿海地區聚居。隨著香港經濟邁向工業化和商業化,傳統的漁業日漸式微,上世紀70至90年代期間,黃竹坑是香港的其中一個主要輕工業區。

今天,南區已蛻變為集工商貿、科技與消閒於一身的地方,特色景點包括數碼港赤柱廣場及美利樓赤柱及其市集海洋公園等。在香港仔避風塘香港仔港灣一帶,仍有不少漁船在此停泊,加上有一個興旺的海鮮市場,處處洋溢漁港風情。

伯大尼修院

伯大尼修院

南區文學徑

南區文學徑

南區的自然風景秀麗,除了有深水灣淺水灣、石澳等著名泳灘外,大潭郊野公園薄扶林郊野公園及薄扶林水塘等四季不同的景色,亦吸引大量郊遊人士。此外,區內也有不少早期發展的印記,例如伯大尼修院舊赤柱警署,和原名「杜格拉斯堡」的大學堂等,而南區文學徑更記錄了5位中國近代文壇奇葩在南區留下的足跡。

赤柱大街(酒吧街)

赤柱大街(酒吧街)

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。