close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island

Detailed Information

Shing Mun Country Park

Shing Mun Country Park

Tsuen Wan is situated in the southwest of the New Territories. Bounded by Wo Yi Hop Road and Texaco Road to the east, it extends to Tsing Lung Tau to the west and fronts the hilly areas of Tai Mo Shan to the north. Its southern boundary follows the coastline. Ma Wan and the northeast of Lantau Island are also part of Tsuen Wan District. With an area of 62.62 sq km, the district is home to a population of around 320 000.

According to the Guangdong yanhai tu (literally translated as "Nautical Chart of the Guangdong Province") in Yue Da Ji written by Kwok Fei in the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644), Tsuen Wan was formerly known as “Chien Wan”, which literally means “shallow bay” in Cantonese. It was later renamed “Tsuen Wan” as the word “Chien” was considered inauspicious. In 1898, the population of Tsuen Wan was only around 3 000, many of whom were Hakka people, who mostly fished and farmed for a living. In the 1950s, with the inflows of capital, skills and labour, light industry began to flourish. Tsuen Wan gradually developed into the hub of the textile industry in Hong Kong and home to the booming clothing and electronics industries. In 1961, Tsuen Wan became the first satellite town in the New Territories, and was included in the New Town Development Programme in the 1970s. It is the first new town of Hong Kong.

As the local industries gradually diminished and new towns started to develop, many industrial buildings in Tsuen Wan District were converted for commercial or other uses. In recent years, an extensive covered footbridge network has been constructed in Tsuen Wan town centre. It connects Tsuen Wan MTR Station and Tsuen Wan West MTR Station, and interlinks various large housing developments, shopping malls and commercial buildings, providing convenient access for the general public.

While modernisation continues, traces of the old days are everywhere in Tsuen Wan. The Sam Tung Uk Museum, which was the home of the Chan clan in the past, and the Mills,a factory that witnessed the golden age of the textile industry in Hong Kong, are well-known examples. Famous temples scattered around Lo Wai and Fu Yung Shan, such as the Yuen Yuen Institute, Western Monastery, Chuk Lam Sim Yuen, and the natural landscapes of Tai Mo Shan Country Park and Shing Mun Country Park are all popular attractions.

Yuen Yuen Institute

Yuen Yuen Institute

The Mills

The Mills

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島

詳細資料

城門郊野公園

城門郊野公園

荃灣位於新界西南部,東面以和宜合道及德士古道為界,西端伸展至青龍頭,北部包括大帽山的山嶺,南面以海岸線為界,而馬灣和大嶼山東北部也屬荃灣區的範圍,面積達62.62平方公里,人口約320 000

根據明朝(1368年 — 1644年)郭棐所著《粵大記》中的廣東沿海圖,荃灣古稱「淺灣」,後因「淺」字寓意不祥而改稱「荃灣」。1898年,荃灣的人口只有3 000左右,為客家人聚居之地,他們主要以捕魚及務農為生。1950年代,資金、技術及勞工流入香港,帶動本港輕工業起飛,荃灣逐步成為紡織業中心,而製衣及電子業也在區内蓬勃發展。荃灣在1961年成為新界第一個衞星城市,並於1970年代獲納入本港第一代新市鎮發展計劃,是香港首個新市鎮。

隨着本港工業日漸式微和新市鎮發展,荃灣區內不少工廠大廈已改作商業或其他用途。近年,荃灣市中心建設了大型有蓋行人天橋網絡,除了連接港鐵荃灣站和荃灣西站之外,還延伸至多個大型屋苑、商場和商廈,方便公眾往來。

儘管已發展多年,荃灣區仍保留不少昔日的歲月痕迹,例如從前陳氏家族聚居的三棟屋博物館和見證香港紡織業黃金時代的南豐紗廠等。此外,散落於荃灣老圍和芙蓉山一帶的圓玄學院西方寺竹林禪院等著名寺廟,以及位於北面的大帽山郊野公園城門郊野公園,均是熱門的郊遊景點。

圓玄學院

圓玄學院

南豐紗廠

南豐紗廠

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。