close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island

Detailed Information

Tuen Mun Town Centre

Tuen Mun Town Centre

Situated in the northwest of the New Territories, Tuen Mun District has an area of 86.59 sq km and a population of about 506 900, and is home to some of the earliest settlers in Hong Kong.

Archaeological remains suggest that early settlers lived a simple life of hunting and fishing around Lung Kwu Chau of Tuen Mun as early as the Neolithic period (c. 4500 - 1500 BC). During the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907), Guangzhou became an important hub for maritime trade alongside the growth of trade between China and the West. Since the Pearl River Estuary was the only access to Guangzhou for merchant ships, Tuen Mun, located on the east coast of the estuary, served as a calling port. The sea off the coast of Tuen Mun was famously depicted in a poem titled Song of Riding the Waves (《踏浪歌》in Chinese) by Liu Yu Xi, a poet of the Tang Dynasty. To protect the merchant fleets, the Administration of the Tang Dynasty deployed troops to station in Tuen Mun. In subsequent dynasties, military camps were set up in the district for border security.

During the Qing Dynasty (1644 - 1911), Hakka clans kept migrating into Tuen Mun from Jiangxi, Fujian, Guangdong, etc. They settled on the east and west coasts of Castle Peak Bay, Lung Kwu Tan, So Kwun Wat, and Tai Lam Chung. Tuen Mun then gradually developed into a fishing and farming village. While most of the villagers fished for a living, they also produced sea salt from salt pans.

Following the large-scale new town development launched in the 1970s, Tuen Mun has gradually developed into a major modern new town. At the same time, traces of its past development, such as Tsing Chuen Wai and Lung Kwu Tan, are preserved. Other attractions like Hong Kong Gold Coast, Thousand Islands Lake, Sam Shing Hui and T·PARK are also worth visiting.

Tsing Chuen Wai

Tsing Chuen Wai

Thousand Islands Lake

Thousand Islands Lake

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島

詳細資料

屯門市中心

屯門市中心

屯門位於新界西北面,佔地86.59平方公里,人口約495 000,是香港最早有人居住的地區之一。

考古文物顯示,遠在新石器時代(公元前4500年 - 1500年),屯門龍鼓洲一帶已有人聚居,過着簡單的漁獵生活。及至唐朝時期(618年 - 907年),中西貿易漸趨頻繁,廣州是當時海上貿易的重要樞紐,珠江口則是商船進入廣州必經之路,位於珠江口東岸的屯門遂成為船舶經過或短暫停靠的地方。唐代詩人劉禹錫《踏浪歌》就描繪了當時屯門的海上景象:「屯門積日無回飆,滄波不歸成踏潮」。唐室為保障商船安全而駐兵於屯門。其後各朝代均於屯門設置軍寨,以確保邊境安全。

清朝年間(1644年 - 1911年),江西、福建、廣東等地的客家氏族不斷遷入屯門,在青山灣東西兩岸、龍鼓灘、掃管笏和大欖涌等地落地生根。屯門漸漸發展為一個漁農之鄉,居民多以捕魚為生,亦有鹽田生產海鹽。

1970年代起,政府於屯門開展大型的新市鎮發展。屯門漸漸發展成具規模的現代化新市鎮。區內仍保留歷史發展的痕迹,例如青磚圍和龍鼓灘,亦有黃金海岸千島湖三聖墟T·PARK [源·區]等玩樂觀光的好去處。

青磚圍

青磚圍

千島湖

千島湖

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。