Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
View Map
View Districts
Man Mo Temple, Sheung Wan photo
Man Mo Temple, Sheung Wan photo1
Man Mo Temple, Sheung Wan photo2
Man Mo Temple, Sheung Wan photo3
Man Mo Temple, Sheung Wan photo4

Located at Hollywood Road, Man Mo Temple in Sheung Wan is a compound comprising 3 blocks built between 1847 and 1862 – Man Mo Temple, Lit Shing Kung and Kung Sor. Man Mo Temple was mainly dedicated to Man Cheong and Kwan Tai. Lit Shing Kung was built for the worship of all Chinese gods and Kung Sor served as a meeting place and venue for dealing with matters related to the Chinese community in the neighbourhood. The 3 blocks are separated by 2 alleys.

Man Mo Temple enshrines the gods Man Cheong (God of Literature) and Kwan Tai (God of Martial Arts). Legend has it that Man Cheong, also known as “Wen Chang Celestial Lord” and “Wenquxing”, governs knowledge and studies and therefore many students and examination candidates pay homage to him. He is also a figure representing filial piety. Kwan Tai refers to Guan Yu (courtesy name Yunchang) who was a famous military general of the State of Shu during the Three Kingdoms period (220 - 280). He was reputed as "the enemy of ten thousand people", and is the paradigm of mightiness, loyalty and righteousness. Kwan Tai is widely glorified and worshipped for his wisdom, trustworthiness, benevolence, righteousness and courage.

Man Mo Temple Compound was declared a monument in 2010.

Transport

To plan your journey to Man Mo Temple, Sheung Wan, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, insert your starting point and "Man Mo Temple Compound, Sheung Wan" as the destination to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the “Journey” button in the Google Map below.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information. Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status and opening hours of the attractions.



More Spots

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
上環文武廟圖片
上環文武廟圖片1
上環文武廟圖片2
上環文武廟圖片3
上環文武廟圖片4

上環文武廟位於荷李活道,為廟宇組群,由文武廟、列聖宮和公所3幢建築物組成,約於1847至1862年期間落成。文武廟主要為供奉文武二帝,列聖宮供奉諸神列聖,而公所則為區內華人議事及排難解紛的場所。3幢建築物以兩條小巷分隔。

文武廟供奉的文武二帝分別為文昌帝和關武帝。文昌帝又稱「梓潼帝君」及「文曲星」,相傳文昌帝掌管知識和學業,故此為讀書人及考科舉者所奉祀,亦為孝道象徵。關武帝是三國時代(220年 - 280年)蜀國名將關羽,字雲長,史稱「關帝萬人敵」,民間相傳關帝兼備「智信仁義勇」,也是威武和忠義的象徵,廣受膜拜。

上環文武廟於2010年列為古蹟。

交通

如規劃前往上環文武廟的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點,並輸入「上環文武廟」作終點,以搜尋不同交通路線,或點擊下方Google地圖的「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點