close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
Po Lin Monastery and The Big Buddha photo
Po Lin Monastery and The Big Buddha photo1
Po Lin Monastery and The Big Buddha photo2
Po Lin Monastery and The Big Buddha photo3
Po Lin Monastery and The Big Buddha photo4
Po Lin Monastery and The Big Buddha photo5

Po Lin Monastery at Ngong Ping was known as the “Big Thatched Hut” in the early days. It was established by Venerables Da Yue, Dun Xiu and Yue Ming from Jiangsu Province in 1906. In 1924, the “Big Thatched Hut” was renamed Po Lin Monastery.

The massive Po Lin Monastery has a specific architectural layout with major buildings constructed along the central axis facing southwest. Starting from San Men (Mountain Gate) visitors will be led up to Hall of Skanda Bodhisattva, Main Shrine Hall of Buddha, and Grand Hall of Ten Thousand Buddhas. Bell Tower and Drum Tower, Meditation Hall, Dining Hall and Sangha Hall are standing in symmetrical arrangements on the flanks. These edifices combine to form an orderly monastery complex. On the south side of the axis are Po Lin Hall and the facility for ceremonial and religious activities. Po Lin Monastery is a centre for advancing Buddhism and a platform for promoting Chinese culture, sculptural art and landscape gardening; and is the most well-known Buddhist monastery in Hong Kong.

The Big Buddha (also known as Tian Tan Buddha and Giant Buddha) sits solemnly atop the peak of Mount Muk Yue in front of Po Lin Monastery. The majestic status seated south and facing north, was modelled after Siddhartha who achieved enlightenment under the Bodhi tree. Cast with 250 tonnes of bronze, the statue’s body is 26.4 m tall and 34 m in total measuring from the lotus throne and the base. The Big Buddha is the largest outdoor Buddha statue of this type in the world. Inside the pedestal is a 3-storey exhibition hall presenting a number of invaluable Buddhist items, including Buddha’s relic. Climbing up 268 steps to reach the pedestal, visitors can worship the Buddha and enjoy the views of Lantau Island and South China Sea. Since the opening of the Big Buddha in 1993, Ngong Ping has become one of the most popular tourist attractions in Hong Kong.

Transport

To plan your journey to Po Lin Monastery and The Big Buddha, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, insert your starting point and "Po Lin Monastery" or "The Big Buddha" as the destination to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the “Journey” button in the Google Map below.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.



More Spots

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
寶蓮禪寺及天壇大佛圖片
寶蓮禪寺及天壇大佛圖片1
寶蓮禪寺及天壇大佛圖片2
寶蓮禪寺及天壇大佛圖片3
寶蓮禪寺及天壇大佛圖片4
寶蓮禪寺及天壇大佛圖片5

位於昂坪的寶蓮禪寺,最初名為大茅蓬,由大悅、頓修和悅明三位來自江蘇省的法師於1906年建立。至1924年正式名為寶蓮禪寺。

寶蓮禪寺極具規模,寺內主要建築沿中軸線,坐東北面西南而建,依次由山門、韋馱殿、大雄寶殿、萬佛殿,沿地勢而上,加上兩側對稱的鐘樓鼓樓、禪堂、齋堂和僧堂,形成序列的院落。軸線南側的另一組建築則是大會堂和祭祀空間。寶蓮禪寺是集宗教、佛教文化、園林景觀、雕塑藝術、傳統和現代於一身的佛教聖地,是香港芸芸寺院中,最廣為人知的一所佛寺。

矗立於寶蓮禪寺前木魚峰上的天壇大佛,莊嚴宏偉,展現釋迦牟尼在菩提樹下得道時的坐姿。佛像坐南向北,像身高26.4米,連蓮花座及基座總高度約34米,以250噸青銅鑄造而成,是全球最高的戶外青銅坐佛。佛像之下設有3層展覽廳,展示包括佛陀真身舍利子的珍貴宗教文物。遊人攀登268級石階到達3層祭壇上參拜大佛,更可在平臺上遠眺大嶼山和南中國海的風光。自大佛於1993年開放供遊人參觀以來,昂坪已成為香港最熱門的觀光勝地之一。

交通

如規劃前往寶蓮禪寺及天壇大佛的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點,並輸入「寶蓮禪寺」或「天壇大佛」作終點,以搜尋不同交通路線,或點擊下方Google地圖的「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點