close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
Tin Hau Temple and Rock Inscription at Joss House Bay, Sai Kung photo
Tin Hau Temple and Rock Inscription at Joss House Bay, Sai Kung photo1
Tin Hau Temple and Rock Inscription at Joss House Bay, Sai Kung photo2
Tin Hau Temple and Rock Inscription at Joss House Bay, Sai Kung photo3

Located at Joss House Bay at Tai Au Mun Road of Clear Water Bay in Sai Kung, Tin Hau Temple, Joss House Bay is said to have built in the 2nd year of the Hsienshun reign (1266) of the Southern Song Dynasty and is the oldest one among all existing Tin Hau temples in the coastal areas of Guangdong. Being the largest Tin Hau temple in Hong Kong, worshippers usually called it "Tai Miu" which means the "Great Temple".

The Temple is beautifully decorated and has lots of historical relics such as a ceremonial pot and a copper bell which were respectively made in the 4th year of Jiaqing (1804) reign and the 20th year of Daoguang (1840) reign of the Qing Dynasty. The Temple was rated Grade 1 historic building in 2010.

The Temple is dedicated to Tin Hau, also known as “Matsu”, who was said to be a native in Fujian Province called Lam Mak Leung during the Song Dynasty (960 - 1279). According to legend, she had gifted power and saved many people from sea disasters. The seafarers therefore worship Tin Hau and regard her as their patron saint.

During the Tin Hau Festival on the 23rd day of the 3rd lunar month, thousands of worshippers throng the Temple to pay tribute to Tin Hau. They also go to the annex hall to fumble under the quilt on Tin Hau’s Dragon Bed for grabbing good luck, which they believe will bring babies to the family, health and fortune.

There is a large rock near the Temple. The date marked on the inscription carved on the rock is the cyclical year of jiaxu of Hsienshun reign, i.e. the 10th year of Hsienshun reign (1274) of the Southern Song Dynasty, making this the oldest dated inscription to have been found in Hong Kong. The inscription also relates the history of the Temple. The Rock Inscription at Joss House Bay was declared a monument in 1979.

Transport

To plan your journey to Tin Hau Temple and Rock Inscription at Joss House Bay, Sai Kung, you may visit the website below for transport information. Alternatively, you may click the relevant location pin in the Google Map below and then click the “Journey” button.
http://www.ctc.org.hk/en/directcontrol/temple20.asp

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.



More Spots

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
佛堂門天后古廟和大廟灣石刻圖片
佛堂門天后古廟和大廟灣石刻圖片1
佛堂門天后古廟和大廟灣石刻圖片2
佛堂門天后古廟和大廟灣石刻圖片3

佛堂門天后古廟位於西貢清水灣大坳門路大廟灣,故又名大廟灣天后廟,建於南宋咸淳2年(1266年),是廣東沿岸現存歷史最悠久的天后廟之一,其規模亦為全港之冠,故善信稱之為「大廟」。

古廟建築精美,並保留不少歷史文物,例如分別於清朝嘉慶4年(1804年) 和道光20年(1840年) 鑄造的鐵香爐和銅鐘等。古廟於2010年評為一級歷史建築。

古廟主祀天后。天后又稱「媽祖」,相傳本名林默娘,宋代(960年 - 1279年)福建人士。據說天后天賦異能,拯救過許多遇到海難的人,故舉凡以海為生者,皆供奉天后,以天后為其守護神。

每年農曆三月廿三日天后誕,前來參拜的信眾絡繹不絕。善信更會到側殿摸天后的龍牀,以祈求子嗣、健康和財帛。

佛堂門天后古廟附近有一塊大石,大石上有刻於南宋甲戌,即咸淳10年(1274年)的石刻,是香港最早有紀年的石刻,石刻內容亦有記載佛堂門天后古廟的歷史。此大廟灣石刻於1979年列為古蹟。

交通

如規劃前往佛堂門天后古廟和大廟灣石刻的行程,可參考以下網站內提供的交通資訊。你亦可使用下方Google地圖,點選相關地點的標記,再點擊「規劃路線」按鈕。
http://www.ctc.org.hk/b5/directcontrol/temple20.asp

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點