close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
Man Mo Temple, Tai Po photo

Located at Fu Shin Street in Tai Po, Man Mo Temple was open in 1892. The Temple was once a venue for meetings, arbitration and worship in Tai Wo Market Town. It is a 2-hall, 1-courtyard structure built of grey bricks. Both its ridges and façade are decorated with fine plaster mouldings, and there is an exquisitely crafted wooden fascia board above the main entrance. The Temple was declared a monument in 1984.

The Temple enshrines the gods Man Cheong (God of Literature) and Kwan Tai (God of Martial Arts). Legend has it that Man Cheong, also known as “Wen Chang Celestial Lord” and “Wenquxing”, governs knowledge and studies and therefore many students and examination candidates pay homage to him. He is also a figure representing filial piety. Kwan Tai refers to Guan Yu (courtesy name Yunchang) who was a famous military general of the State of Shu during the Three Kingdoms period (220 - 280). He was reputed as "the enemy of ten thousand people", and is the paradigm of mightiness, loyalty and righteousness. Kwan Tai is widely glorified and worshipped for his wisdom, trustworthiness, benevolence, righteousness and courage.

After visiting the Temple, visitors may stop by Fu Shin Street where rural produce and traditional food items can easily be found, giving them a glimpse of the prosperity of the old Tai Wo Market.

Transport

To plan your journey to Man Mo Temple, Tai Po, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, insert your starting point and "Man Mo Temple Garden" as the destination to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the “Journey” button in the Google Map below.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.



More Spots

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
大埔文武二帝廟圖片

大埔文武二帝廟位於大埔富善街,於1892年啟用,是昔日太和市議事、仲裁和祭祀的地方。大埔文武二帝廟為兩進一天井的青磚建築,屋脊和正面外牆的灰塑,以及正門上方的木雕均造工精美。該廟於1984年列為古蹟。

廟內供奉的文武二帝分別為文昌帝和關武帝。文昌帝又稱「梓潼帝君」及「文曲星」,相傳文昌帝掌管知識和學業,故此為讀書人及考科舉者所奉祀,亦為孝道象徵。關武帝是三國時代(220年 - 280年)蜀國名將關羽,字雲長,史稱「關帝萬人敵」,民間相傳兼備「智信仁義勇」,也是威武和忠義的象徵,廣受膜拜。

參觀大埔文武二帝廟後,遊人可順道遊覽富善街。富善街有不少鄉村土產及傳統食品發售,保持著昔日太和市的繁榮。

交通

如規劃前往大埔文武二帝廟的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點,並輸入「文武廟花園」作終點,以搜尋不同交通路線,或點擊下方Google地圖的「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點