close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
Kat Hing Wai photo
Kat Hing Wai photo1
Kat Hing Wai photo2
Kat Hing Wai photo3
Kat Hing Wai photo4

Kat Hing Wai at Kam Tin in Yuen Long is a historic walled village built during the Chenghua reign (1465 - 1487) of the Ming Dynasty by the Tang Clan. The square shape village is completely surrounded by grey brick walls erected to protect villagers from invaders. Inside the village, there is a small temple dedicated to 15 deities.

Kat Hing Wai is best known for the "Iron Gates Incident" of 1899, when the British army tried to take over the New Territories but faced strong resistance from villagers of Kam Tin Heung. After several battles, the villagers withdrew behind the iron gates to hold out against the British army. Later, the British army entered Kat Hing Wai, removed and shipped the gates away as booty.

In 1924, Tang Pak Kau, a senior of the clan, petitioned to the British Government for the return of the gates. The British Government finally returned the gates, and a returning ceremony was held on 26 May 1925.

The Shrine, Entrance Gate, Watchtowers and Enclosing Walls of Kat Hing Wai were rated Grade 1 historic buildings in 2010.

Transport

To plan your journey to Kat Hing Wai, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, and insert your starting point to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the “Journey” button in the Google Map below.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.



More Spots
Dining & Entertainment
Shopping

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
吉慶圍圖片
吉慶圍圖片1
吉慶圍圖片2
吉慶圍圖片3
吉慶圍圖片4

吉慶圍位於元朗錦田,是一條古老的圍村,由鄧族於明朝成化年間(1465年 — 1487年)興建。圍村呈四方形,以青磚築成圍牆,保衛村民免受盜賊侵襲。村內設有一小廟,供奉了15位神祇。

吉慶圍以「鐵門事件」著名。1899年,錦田鄉民與接管新界之英軍展開血戰,最後閉關鐵門退守圍內。其後,英軍攻入吉慶圍,並拆除及運走鐵門作戰利品。

直至1924年,族中鄉耆鄧伯裘去信英廷,要求交還鐵門。終於,英廷把鐵門運回原處,交還鐵門儀式於1925年5月26日舉行。

吉慶圍的神廳、圍門、炮樓及圍牆於2010年評為一級歷史建築。

交通

如規劃前往吉慶圍的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點以搜尋不同交通路線,或點擊下方Google地圖的「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點