close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
Chi Lin Nunnery & Nan Lian Garden photo
Chi Lin Nunnery & Nan Lian Garden photo1
Chi Lin Nunnery & Nan Lian Garden photo2
Chi Lin Nunnery & Nan Lian Garden photo3
Chi Lin Nunnery & Nan Lian Garden photo4
Chi Lin Nunnery & Nan Lian Garden photo5

Located at Chi Lin Road in Diamond Hill, Chi Lin Nunnery was founded in 1934 by Ven. Kok Yat and Ven. Wai Um, and expanded into a “conglin” (Buddhist monastery) exclusively for nuns to pursue their religious practice in 1948.

The site of Chi Lin Nunnery was previously a mansion donated by a Buddhist. In 1994, the Nunnery commenced a redevelopment project which is based mainly on the layout of traditional Chinese “7 halls monastery” design. The design layout is derived from the “Amitayurdhyana Sutra Transformation Painting” in Cave 172 in Mogao Grottoes, Dunhuang. Applying traditional hand-craft construction methods and techniques, the completed Tang-style timber monastic complex was open to the public in 2000.

The Nunnery consists of more than 20 individual timber structures from the Main Gate to the Ten Thousand Buddhas Pagoda built along the hill-slope. Having a “3 entrances and 3 courtyards” layout and typical Chinese house-courtyard buildings, the timber structures lie symmetrically on both side of the Nunnery’s central axis. The 1st courtyard has “2 towers and 1 hall” as the backdrop. Surrounding covered corridors link the east gate, west gate and Main Gate. At the centre of the spacious courtyard are 4 symmetrically balanced lotus ponds. Together with the Hall of Celestial Kings, the 1st courtyard recreates the artistic concept of the “Amitayurdhyana Sutra Transformation Painting”. The 2nd courtyard houses the Main Hall which design is modelled upon the timber structure of the East Main Hall of Foguang Temple in Wutai Mountain in the Mainland built in the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907). It is a place for religious activities. The Dharma Hall, Scripture Library and Dining Hall stand in the 3rd courtyard. The 5-storey Ten Thousand Buddhas Pagoda built on the northeast hillside is a 7-storey double eaved square pagoda looking from the outside. The pyramid roof and the spire atop are all architectural features of a traditional Tang-style square pagoda.

Situated at Fung Tak Road to the south of Chi Lin Nunnery, Nan Lian Garden was open to the public in 2006. Built in the Tang-style, the 3.5 ha Garden is adorned with timber structures, studded with clusters of bizarre rocks and planted with lots of old and valuable trees.

Looking at the monastic complex from the layout, proportion, aesthetics and robustness of the structures, Chi Lin Nunnery follows strictly the rules of construction of traditional architecture in the Tang Dynasty. The structures of the Nunnery complement the landscape of the adjoining Nan Lian Garden to form a comprehensive system that display fully the unique artistic expressions of architecture in the Tang Dynasty.

Transport

To plan your journey to Chi Lin Nunnery & Nan Lian Garden, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, insert your starting point and "Chi Lin Nunnery" or "Nan Lian Garden" as the destination to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the relevant location pin in the Google Map below and then click the “Journey” button.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.



More Spots

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
志蓮淨苑及南蓮園池圖片
志蓮淨苑及南蓮園池圖片1
志蓮淨苑及南蓮園池圖片2
志蓮淨苑及南蓮園池圖片3
志蓮淨苑及南蓮園池圖片4
志蓮淨苑及南蓮園池圖片5

志蓮淨苑位於鑽石山志蓮道,於1934年由覺一法師和葦庵法師創立,並於1948年發展為「女眾十方叢林」的女眾道場,以供尼眾修行用功。

志蓮淨苑苑址原為一所由佛教徒捐贈的花園別墅。1994年,志蓮淨苑展開了重建工程,依照中國傳統佛寺「七堂伽藍」規模佈局,以敦煌莫高窟第172窟的壁畫《觀無量壽經變圖》為設計藍圖,採用傳統手工建造技術,建成唐式木構建築群,於2000年正式開放給公眾參觀。

志蓮淨苑共有20多個單體木構建築,由山門到萬佛塔依山而建,沿中軸線以三進院落的佈局,以及中國建築典型的四合院形式,形成中軸對稱的格局。第一進院落以「雙樓加一殿」為背景,四面廻廊連貫東、西門及山門,中間一片廣闊庭院包圍著4個對稱均衡的荷花池,連同主建築天王殿呈現出《觀無量壽經變圖》中的壯觀景象。位於第二進院落的大雄殿,則參照中國五台山佛光寺內的唐代(618年 — 907年)木構建築東大殿為藍本設計建造,是信徒禮敬崇拜的宗教活動場地。第三進院落設有法堂、藏經樓和齋堂。至於位處東北面半山上的萬佛塔,外為7層重檐方塔,內為5層,塔頂用攢尖頂,頂上有塔剎,亦是唐代傳統方塔的建築設計。

佔地3.5公頃的南蓮園池位於志蓮淨苑南面的鳳德道,於2006年開放給公眾參觀。公園同樣採用唐代設計和木結構,並放置大量奇石及遍植古樹。

志蓮淨苑的唐式佛寺木構建築群,在結構佈局、比例、美學和穩重上,都嚴格遵守著唐代古建築的法則,與毗鄰的唐風公園南蓮園池聯成一體,充分展現出唐代建築藝術的獨特風采。

交通

如規劃前往志蓮淨苑及南蓮園池的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點,並輸入志蓮淨苑」或「南蓮園池作終點,以搜尋不同交通路線。你亦可使用下方Google地圖,點選相關地點的標記,再點擊「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點