Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
View Map
View Districts
Stone Houses Family Garden photo
Stone Houses Family Garden photo1
Stone Houses Family Garden photo2
Stone Houses Family Garden photo3
Stone Houses Family Garden photo4
Stone Houses Family Garden photo5

Stone Houses Family Garden at Junction Road in Kowloon was originally the Old House at Nos. 31 - 35 of the former Hau Wong Temple New Village, which were believed to be built between 1945 and 1949. The block of 5 2-storey residential units was mainly constructed of granite blocks and with a pitched roof of timber rafters and clay tiles.

After World War II, the area became a squatter area, known as the Hau Wong Temple New Village, Lai Chi Yuen and Ho Ka Yuen, accommodating a large immigrant population from the Mainland. In the 1950s, a number of film studios were established in the squatter area. After such film studios were moved out in the 1970s, many small-scale factories were established there. Of them, the signboard of a tombstone company named “Nam Yan Kee” remains intact.

Hau Wong Temple New Village was cleared in 2001 and the Old House at Nos. 31 - 35 has become the only remaining structure of the village. In 2015, the Old House was revitalised as the Stone Houses Family Garden, a nostalgic themed cafeteria with an interpretation centre and a visitor information centre, offering catering, exhibitions, guided tours and training classes.

The Old House at Nos. 31 - 35 of the former Hau Wong Temple New Village was rated Grade 3 historic building in 2010.

Transport

To plan your journey to Stone Houses Family Garden, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, and insert your starting point to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the “Journey” button in the Google Map below.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information. Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status and opening hours of the attractions.



More Spots
Shopping

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
石屋家園圖片
石屋家園圖片1
石屋家園圖片2
石屋家園圖片3
石屋家園圖片4
石屋家園圖片5

石屋家園位於九龍聯合道,前身是昔日侯王廟新村31-35號舊民居,相信約於1945年至1949年間建成。樓高兩層的一列5間石屋,牆身主要用花崗石築砌,而屋頂是人字木結構瓦頂。

第二次世界大戰後,由於大量內地移民湧入香港,石屋附近一帶成為寮屋區,這片寮屋區被稱為侯王廟新村、荔枝園和何家園。到了1950年代,寮屋區內開設了不少片場。自各個片場遷出後,部分石屋在1970年代開始轉作工場用途,當中,墓碑廠「藍恩記」的招牌仍保留至今。

侯王廟新村於2001年清拆,31-35號舊民居成為村內僅存的建築物。舊民居於2015年活化為石屋家園,是一所以懷舊冰室為主題的餐廳,並設有文物探知中心和旅遊資訊中心,提供餐飲、展覽、導賞及訓練課程。

侯王廟新村31-35號舊民居於2010年評為三級歷史建築。

交通

如規劃前往石屋家園的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點以搜尋不同交通路線,或點擊下方Google地圖的「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點