close

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19, some of the attractions introduced on this website may be temporarily closed.

Before planning your journey, please pay attention to the latest announcements of relevant Government departments or agencies, or contact them for enquiries of the latest opening status of the attractions.

Explore by District
New Territories
Kowloon
Hong Kong Island
Kowloon Walled City Park photo
Kowloon Walled City Park photo1
Kowloon Walled City Park photo2
Kowloon Walled City Park photo3

Kowloon Walled City Park at Tung Tsing Road in Kowloon City was formerly the site of Kowloon Walled City which was one of the most historic sites in Hong Kong.

Once strategically located at the northeastern corner of Kowloon Peninsula, Kowloon Walled City, a walled garrison-city built with granite slabs and incorporated 6 watchtowers and 4 gateways was constructed by imperial officials of the Qing Dynasty in 1847. The Yamen Building, which was originally the administrative office of the assistant magistrate of Kowloon, is a 3-hall, 2-courtyard structure built of grey bricks with tiled roofs sitting on purlins supported by columns and gable walls. However, the granite slabs of the Walled City were torn down completely during the Japanese Occupation. After World War II, a lot of high-rise tenements built over the Walled City site. Owing to the lack of regulation, the place had become a notorious nest of illegal activities gradually.

After the demolition of Kowloon Walled City in 1994, a park was built on the site. 2 granite plaques bearing the characters "South Gate" and "Kowloon Walled City" of the original South Gate were unearthed during the demolition. Hence, the park was named Kowloon Walled City Park. The Yamen Building was also preserved and restored.

Occupying an area of 31 000 sq m, Kowloon Walled City Park is laid out in the Jiangnan garden style of the early Qing Dynasty, producing a green and peaceful environment studded with Chinese pavilions and ponds. In its centre stands the restored Yamen Building offering visitors a glimpse of the physical appearance of the Walled City in the old days. The Yamen houses an exhibition which shows both the history of the Walled City and the construction process of the Park, together with the display of some relics unearthed in the Walled City. Visitors may soak up the ambience of the remote past whilst enjoying the charming Park.

Remnants of the South Gate and the former Yamen Building of Kowloon Walled City were declared monuments in 1996.

Transport

To plan your journey to Kowloon Walled City Park, visit the "HKeMobility" website (https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk) or mobile application developed by the Transport Department, and insert your starting point to search for routes of different transportation mode. Alternatively, you may click the “Journey” button in the Google Map below.

The information provided in this website is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant Departments or organisations. The Government does not make any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy, adequacy, reliability or timeliness in relation to such contents, and will not be liable for any errors in, or omissions from any such information.



More Spots
Shopping

關閉

因應2019冠狀病毒病的最新情況,本網站介紹的部分景點或會暫停開放。

在規劃你的行程前,請留意有關政府部門或機構的最新公布,或向他們查詢景點的開放情況。

依地區探索
新界
九龍
香港島
九龍寨城公園圖片
九龍寨城公園圖片1
九龍寨城公園圖片2
九龍寨城公園圖片3

九龍寨城公園位於九龍城東正道,原址為九龍寨城,是香港最具歷史意義的地點之一。

九龍寨城位於當年九龍半島東北角,位置曾具戰略性價值,因此清朝朝廷於1847年在此修建九龍寨城,以加強海防。城牆以花崗石構築,有6座瞭望台和4道城門。寨城衙門,原為九龍司巡檢辦公地方,是一座三進兩院式青磚建築,用柱子和山牆支撐檁條和瓦頂。不過,城牆在日治期間遭拆毀。第二次世界大戰後,大量多層樓宇在寨城內興建,由於缺乏監管,該處漸漸成為罪惡的溫床。

1994年,政府完成清拆寨城,並於原址興建公園。清拆期間,發掘出兩塊原屬寨城南門、刻有「南門」及「九龍寨城」字樣的花岡岩匾額,因此將公園命名為「九龍寨城公園」,而寨城衙門亦予以保留復修。

九龍寨城公園以清初江南園林為設計藍本,園內亭台樓閣,水木清華,盡是玲瓏秀麗的景緻。公園佔地31 000平方米,以修復的前九龍寨城衙門為中心,令昔日寨城風貌重現眼前。衙門內設有展覽,介紹寨城的歷史和公園的興建過程,並陳列一些在寨城範圍掘出的文物。遊人既可享受遊園之樂,欣賞怡人的景緻,亦可發思古之幽情。

九龍寨城南門遺蹟及前九龍寨城衙門於1996年列為古蹟。

交通

如規劃前往九龍寨城公園的行程,可使用運輸署提供的「香港出行易」網站(https://www.hkemobility.gov.hk)或流動應用程式,輸入你的出發地點以搜尋不同交通路線,或點擊下方Google地圖的「規劃路線」按鈕。

本網站提供的資訊只供參考之用。網站所述的資訊如有更改,應以有關部門或機構公布為準。政府對本網站內容的準確性、足夠性、可靠性及時間性概不作任何明示或默示的保證,亦不會就該等內容的任何錯誤或遺漏承擔任何法律責任。



更多
景點