Back to Map
Spots

 

Area

4,000 hectares

Population

About 275,000

Highlights

The Southern District is a modern industrial/commercial and residential district. But despite that, most of its natural landscape, such as the scenic beaches and country parks, remain intact. Moreover, in the vicinity of Aberdeen and Stanley, some residents still keep traditional customs and rituals. The Aberdeen Fish Market and Typhoon Shelter boast the ambience of a fishing harbour. In addition, the Ocean Park in the district is a world-renowned theme park patroned by lots of tourists from the Mainland and overseas every day. All in all, the Southern District is a destination for most tourists.

The Southern District, spanning across the southern part of Hong Kong Island, stretches from Big Wave Bay in the east and Pok Fu Lam in the west. It faces the Pacific Ocean, and covers nearly half of the Island's area in which Shek O, Tai Tam, Stanley, Chung Hom Kok, Repulse Bay, Wong Chuk Hang, Aberdeen and Ap Lei Chau are all included.

Many places in the Southern District have a long development history. Some of the place names in the Southern District were recorded in ancient Chinese books a long time ago. For instance, "Yue Da Ji", written by Kwok Fei, a scholar of the Ming Dynasty, set out such names as Stanley and Hong Kong in describing the places along the coast.

Before the Colonial Period, Stanley had the largest population together with a flourishing economy, therefore, many foreign businessmen and sailors landed there. In the Early Colonial Period, the British planned to establish their development base in the areas including Stanley, Aberdeen and Wong Chuk Hang in the southern part of Hong Kong Island. According to Gazette No. 2 published by the Government in 1841, Stanley was called "the principal urban locality of Hong Kong Island". Obviously, Stanley played an important role at that time. However, the land in Stanley was limited and the area was under the threat of pirates. Furthermore, due to dirty well-water and epidemic diseases, the British decided to move to the northern coast of Hong Kong Island and reclaimed the land for development.

The Southern District at present is a desirable place for commercial, industrial and residential development. However, most of its natural environment and original scenery have been preserved, so the district can be regarded as a district with distinguishing features in Hong Kong.

In near future, the district is expecting rapid changes and development. To get the latest information of the district, please visit the Southern District Tourism Website: http://www.travelsouth.hk/en.

 

Spots Back to Top

回地圖
旅遊點

 

面積

4,000公頃

人口

約 275,000

特點

南區為現代工商業和住宅區,惟大部分天然環境仍得以保存,當中包括一些風景怡人的海灘和郊野公園。在香港仔和赤柱一帶,有些居民仍然保留傳統風俗,其中香港仔魚市場及避風塘,更是饒富漁港特色。位於南區的海洋公園,是享負盛名的主題樂園,每日均有大批海內外遊客到訪。因此,南區也是訪港遊客常到之處。

南區位於港島南部,面向太平洋,幾佔港島之半。東起大浪灣,西迄薄扶林,包括石澳、大潭、赤柱、舂磡角、淺水灣、黃竹坑、香港仔、鴨脷洲等地。

南區不少地方都有悠久的發展歷史,中國古籍早有記載南區部分地方名稱,如明朝郭棐編撰的《粵大記》中,所繪沿海地點已載有赤柱、香港等名字。不少古籍更以赤柱、大潭、香港圍(即黃竹坑舊圍)等名字稱呼香港島,可見南區一帶在古代的發展比港島其他地區較佳。

在香港開埠以前,赤柱人口最多,經濟較繁榮,而且,不少外國商人、水手亦是從那裡登陸,故於開埠初期,英國人曾計劃以港島南的赤柱、香港仔和黃竹坑一帶為發展基地。根據在1841年政府所刊登的第二號憲報,赤柱曾被稱為「香港島的首鎮」,可見赤柱當時已有極重要的地位。惜赤柱一帶土地狹少,且有海盜威脅;更重要的是當時井水不潔,更有疫症蔓延,故此英國人決定轉往港島北岸填海發展。

時至今日,雖然南區各處亦成為發展現代工商業和住宅的理想地點,但大部份天然優美的環境和原始風貌仍得以保存,故南區可算為香港其中一個極具特色的地區。

在不久將來,南區將陸續有更多改變及發展,如欲認識南區的最新資訊,歡迎瀏覽南區的旅遊網頁—「香港南區遊」:www.travelsouth.hk

 

旅遊點 回頁首